he Executive Committee consists of the President, Secretary-General, Treasurer, Past-President, President-Elect, and the Regional Chairs. It holds office for the period starting at the end of each World Congress and extending to the beginning of the next. The President-Elect of the Association has the responsibility for organizing the next World Congress.

Executive Commitee

Heung Bong CHA image

Heung Bong CHA


Professor Emeritus Department Social Welfare, Hallym University, Seoul, South Korea.

View full profile

Sung Jae CHOI image

Sung Jae CHOI

Secretary General & Vice President

Prof Choi is currently Professor of Social Welfare, Department of Social Welfare, Seoul National University, and Director, Institute on Aging, Seoul National University, South Korea.

View full profile

Dong Ho LEE image

Dong Ho LEE


Professor of Gastroenterology, Department of Internal Medicine, Seoul National University College of Medicine and Director, Health Promotion Center, Seoul National University Bundang Hospital, South Korea.

View full profile

Bruno VELLAS image


Immediate Past President

Professor of Medicine, Chief Dept. of Internal Medicine & Geriatrics, Chief Alzheimer's Disease Clinical Research Centre of Toulouse

View full profile

John ROWE image


President Elect

Professor at the Department of Health Policy and Management, Joseph Mailman School of Public Health, Columbia University in New York, USA.

View full profile

Regional Chairs

Isabella ABODERIN image


Chair, Africa Region

Leads the Oxford Institute of Aging program of work on Africa and is Co-ordinator of the African Research on Ageing Network (AFRAN).

View full profile

Isabella ABODERIN image

Kenneth MADDEN

Chair, North American Region

Associate Professor
Division Head, Vancouver General Hospital
Division of Geriatric Medicine
Department of Medicine
University of British Columbia

View full profile

Isabella ABODERIN image

Keith HILL

Chair, Asia & Oceania Region

Prof Keith HILL is presently Head of the School of Physiotherapy, Faculty of Health Sciences, Curtin University in Perth, Australia.

View full profile

Marianela Hekman image

Marianela Flores De Hekman

Chair, Latin American & Carribean Region

Coordinator of South Region of theBrazil's Confederation of associations and societies Brazilian Osteoporosis and Osteometabolismo (CEBOM)

Permanent member of Consultative Board of the Brazilian Society of Geriatrics and Gerontology

View full profile

Clemens Tesch-Roemer

Clemens Tesch-Roemer

Chair, European Region

Director of the German Centre of Gerontology and Adjunct Professor of Psychology, FreieUniversitaet Berlin

View full profile


The 6th Executive Committee meeting was held on the January 12, 2013 in Seoul, South Korea. The ten members worked together prior to the 20th World Congress scheduled on June 23-27, 2013. See the photo of the participants.